Amanda Pohl Endorses McClellan for Governor

Pohl: McClellan ‘is a tireless and passionate fighter for all Virginians’

Today, Sen. Jennifer McClellan’s campaign announced the endorsement of Chesterfield County community leader Amanda Pohl.

Pohl previously ran for Senate in 2019 in a competitive race against Sen. Amanda Chase (R-Chesterfield) in a red district. Chase is the only announced Republican candidate for governor in 2021.  

“Senator McClellan is a tireless and passionate fighter for all Virginians who has spent her entire career focused on how to solve real problems in our Commonwealth,” Pohl said. “I am proud to endorse her as Virginia’s next Governor because I know that no matter what challenges we face, she has the grit and courage to tackle those challenges head-on while listening to the voices of those who are directly affected by government decisions.” 

Pohl adds to McClellan’s list of endorsements in Central Virginia, including legislators, county board members, community leaders and business leaders.

McClellan’s full list of 32 endorsements:

  • Senators: Sens. Mamie Locke (Hampton), Jennifer Boysko (Fairfax), Ghazala Hashmi (Chesterfield), Monty Mason (Williamsburg), and Lynwood Lewis (Accomack)
  • Delegates: Jeff Bourne (Richmond), Rodney Willet (Henrico), Betsy Carr (Richmond), Paul Krizek (Fairfax), and David Bulova (Fairfax).
  • Former Delegates: Minority Leader Ward Armstrong (Henry), Albert Pollard (Lancaster)
  • Mayors: Justin Wilson (Alexandria) and Deanna Reed (Harrisonburg)
  • County Board: Phyllis Randall (Chair, Loudoun), Katie Cristol (Arlington), Faye Pritchard (Hanover)
  • City Treasurer: Daun Hester (Norfolk)
  • Commonwealth’s Attorney: Jim Hingeley (Albemarle)
  • School Board Members: Jacinta Green (Alexandria), Lawrence Webb (Falls Church)
  • Democratic party leaders: Susan Platt, 2017 Lt. Gov. candidate and founder of EmergeVA; Terron Sims, II, Vice Chair of DNC Veterans and Military Families Council
  • Community leaders and advocates: Sindy Benavides, advocate; Rodney Robinson (Richmond), 2019 National Teacher of the Year;  Douglas Garcia, Education Advocate and former Virginia Assistant Secretary of Education; Kati Hornung (Chesterfield), women’s equality activist; Dr. Andrea Douglas (Charlottesville), art & culture historian & community leader; Faith Elizabeth “Liza” Walker Mickens (Richmond), community leader; Amanda Pohl (Chesterfield), community leader.
  • Business leaders: Kelli Lemon (Richmond), owner of Urban Hang Suite; Mike Hamlar (Roanoke), owner of Hamlar Properties